Droitwich Half Marathon

This was the 6th anniversary of the Droitwich Half Marathon organised by Droitwich Athletics Club which also incorporated the Worcestershire County Half Marathon Championships. By the time the race started, the rain had stopped and it was a mild, bright day. This chip timed event started on Ombersley Way near Droitwich Leisure Centre and finished on the athletics track at Droitwich High School. The course had to be changed slightly this year due to road works but was still run on quiet country lanes around Droitwich taking in Ladywood, Hadley and Porters Mill. The course was undulating with some challenging hills, some of which had to be tackled twice.
The winner was Stuart Hawkes from Tipton Harriers in a superb time of 1:13:17 but Malvern Joggers were led home by Matthew Lancett in a time of 1:32:55 followed by Nic Dauncey (1:38:41), Ben Toon (1:44:09), Jason Protheroe (1:49:27), Steve Roode (1:51:20), Claire Haynes (1:51:23), Julie Caseley (1:53:26), Andrew Gallagher (1:56:34), Julia Heron (1:58:42) and Lucy Gallagher (1:59:22). [updated 11 Mar 17]